CACB Awards

Group Photo Of Professional Colleagues Working Together In Clinical Analysis Laboratory
Clinical Chemist Working
Clinical Chemist Group
Clinical Chemist in Lab
Clinical Chemist in Lab
Clinical Chemist Group
Clinical Chemist Working on Computer
Clinical Chemist in Lab

Outstanding Service to the Profession of Clinical Biochemistry

This award recognizes outstanding contributions by a Fellow of the Academy who advances the standards and recognition of Clinical Biochemistry as a Health Care Profession and thereby advances the professional objectives of the Academy.

Sponsored by
Siemens Logo

2024 Winner



Winner Statement

CACB is pleased to announce that Dr. Edward Dunn will be receiving the 2024 CACB Award for Outstanding Service to the Profession of Clinical Biochemistry. This award recognizes an individual who has made unique and significant contributions to laboratory medicine.

Dr. Edward Dunn is currently the National Director of Service and Product Development at Dynacare, one of Canada’s largest private Clinical Laboratories.

Dr. Dunn received his PhD in Physical Organic Chemistry at Queen’s University, and completed a Post-Doctoral Fellowship in Clinical Chemistry at McMaster University in 1992. He has since served as a Clinical Chemist at St Joseph’s Healthcare from 1992-2000 and then the Clinical Laboratory Director and Psychopharmacology Research Laboratory Director at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health (CAMH) from 2000 to 2004. He is certified by the Canadian Academy of Clinical Biochemistry, and is a member of the CSCC, the Association for Diagnostics & Laboratory Medicine, and the International Association of Therapeutic Drug Monitoring and Clinical Toxicology.

Dr. Dunn has been practicing as a Clinical Chemist for over 30 years and has been an inspiring educator and mentor to many. He has a broad skill set with a specialized focus on toxicology and therapeutic drug monitoring. At St Joseph’s Healthcare, he developed the strategic plan for the Regional Toxicology Centre of Excellence, and at CAMH, developed the Laboratory Services and Psychopharmacology Research lab. Since joining the team at Dynacare, he has served as the Clinical Director for Toxicology, and established the Research and Development lab. This lab not only offers clinical testing for toxicology and TDM tests, but also has a research team that specializes in test method development using mass spectrometry. Dr. Dunn also served as the Special Advisor for Drug Monitoring on the quality Management Program-Laboratory Services (QMP-LS) Chemistry Committee from 1994 to 2013.

Throughout his career, Dr. Dunn has become a pioneer in the field of laboratory developed tests. He served as the chair on the Canadian Standards Association task force, which published a Canadian Standard for Laboratory Developed Tests. As National Director of Service and Product Development at Dynacare, Ted and his team have developed and validated over 100 novel test methods using specialized equipment such as liquid chromatography mass spectrometry, and in many cases, served as the first lab in Canada/North America to offer these tests clinically. In addition to his many roles on CSCC committees including Secretary, President-Elect, President, and Past President, Dr. Dunn has also served as a Member of the Canadian Standards Association (CSA) technical committee and was chair of the CSA task force to create Canadian Standard for Laboratory Developed Tests. He is also a member of ISO/TC 212 mirror committee – Clinical laboratory testing and in vitro diagnostic test systems. He has published ~40 peer-reviewed papers, has given over 60 special lectures and presentations, and is the primary author on one patent, where he initiated the point-of-care testing (POCT) program for INR in remote regions, resulting in a US Patent for wireless transmission of encrypted data.

Past Winners

2023 Curtis Oleschuk
2022 Cheryl Tomalty
2021 Peter Kavsak
2020 Robert W. Moore
2019 Eleftherios P. Diamandis
2018 Sheila Boss
2017 Mary-Ann Kallai Sanfaçon
2016 Edward Randell
2015 Qing Meng
2014 Thomas Dembinski
2013 Nathalie Lepage
2012 Christine Collier
2011 John Krahn
2010 Wolfgang Schneider
2009 Donald C. Greenway
2008 Vijaylaxmi Grey
2007 Bernard Vinet
2006 Stephen Hill
2005 Andrew Lyon
2004 Khosrow Adeli
2003 David Parry
2002 Patricia Collins
2001 Raymond Lepage 2001
2000 Peter Bunting 2000
1999 Robert E. Hill
1998 Matthew McQueen
1997 Roger Sanfaçon
1996 Paul Desjardins
1995 Douglas G. Gornall
1994 Allan G. Gornall
1993 Morris Pudek (1st recipient)

Terms of Reference

  1. The Award shall be presented annually, but if in the opinion of the Board of Directors of the Academy no suitable candidate is available in any year, the Award shall not be made.
  2. The Award shall be accompanied by a framed certificate and an honorarium in the amount of $1,500.00 donated by Siemens Canada Limited.
  3. The recipient of the Award is not usually expected to give an address or give a paper, but the Award and the reading of the citation shall usually be made at the Annual Conference of the CACB. A representative of the Company shall be invited to participate in the presentation.
  4. No formal nomination procedure is specified but members of the Academy may propose suitable candidates to the Board of Directors through the Head Office of the Academy. Proposals may be solicited annually in the Newsletter of CSCC.