CSCC Award for Outstanding Contribution to Clinical Chemistry Sponsored by Bayer Inc, Diagnostics Division

Lynn C. Allen



Lynn Allen completed her B.Sc. and M.Sc. at the University of Waterloo, and her Ph.D. at the University of Ottawa. Following graduation from the Postdoctoral Training Program in Clinical Chemistry at the University of Toronto, she became a clinical chemist at University Health Network, formerly Toronto General Hospital, where she is still working. She became a Certified member of the Canadian Society of Clinical Chemists and was a Founding Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Clinical Biochemistry.

Education has been one of her long-term interests. She was Program Director for the University of Toronto Postdoctoral Training Committee in Clinical Chemistry from 1993 - 1999, and has been involved in Postdoctoral Training since 1975. She currently teaches in problem-based learning tutorials in two courses in the undergraduate medical curriculum. She chairs the Ontario Society of Clinical Chemists Postdoctoral Training

Committee. She was a member of the COMACC Board (Commission on Accreditation in Clinical Chemistry, USA. She received a Teaching Award for Postgraduate Teaching, Department of Clinical Biochemistry, University of Toronto, in 1996.

She has also been active in technologist training – she chaired the Advisory Council at The Michener Institute for Applied Health Sciences for Medical Laboratory Technology for 4 years.

Lynn has served in a voluntary position or role with the CSCC in every year since her graduation, much of this in the area of education. She was the first Registrar of Continuing Education Credit Program, and continued though to Chair of the Education Committee (7 years), member of CACB Accreditation Committee for 7 years, and Head of the CSCC Education and Scientific Affairs Division. She also was Treasurer of the CSCC Annual Meeting in 1982 and Chair in 1992. She has subsequently held the positions of Treasurer, President Elect and President of the Society. She was the recipient of the CSCC Award for Education Excellence in 1994.

In 1999 she became a Full member of the new IFCC Committee on Curriculum Development (C-CD), and in March 2001 in Dubrovnik was appointed Acting Chair of this Committee.